Chapel building - - Slippery Rock campus buildings
Subject Source: Local sourcesScope Note: After the original chapel was destroyed by fire in 1896, a new stone chapel of Norman-French architecture was built. This facility had stained-glass windows, an auditorium with seating for 1 ,000, a full stage, dressing and storage rooms and an organ. It quickly replaced Old Main as the center of student activity. This building was used by both the Bryant Society and the Philomathian Society for their meetings and activities. In 1955, the building was closed because of structural weaknesses. After several attempts to raise funds for renovation, the building .was torn down in 1971. Visitors can see some of the original windows rescued from the Chapel in the Pennsylvania Room of North Hall.
Found in 1 Collection or Record:
Dates: Slippery Rock State College era (1960-1980)